How To File For Homestead Exemption In Orleans Parish
Homestead Exemption saves you from paying property taxes on the first $75,000 of your home’s value. It is recommended that you apply for Homestead Exemption as soon as possible after purchasing your home. However, you must wait to receive the recorded copy of the act of sale. The title company or notary that handled your closing will typically mail you the recorded act of sale within 30 – 45 days after your closing.
Homestead Exemption is permanent in Orleans Parish & you do not need to reapply as long as you own and permanently reside at that location. If you move or sell the property, Homestead Eemption on that property will be canceled. Only one Homestead Exemption can be granted in the state of Louisiana.
You must apply in person at the Orleans Parish Assessor’s Office:
City Hall Room 4E01, 1300 Perdido Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 – 504.658.1300
Algiers Courthouse – 225 Morgan Street, New Orleans, LA 70114 – 504.368.7642
You will be required to present the following documents along with your Homestead Exemption application:
- Proof of ownership (Recorded Act of Sale)
- Valid Louisiana Driver’s License or Louisiana State I.D. (address on ID must correspond to property address)
- A current utility bill for the property. IMPORTANT NOTE: Sewerage & Water Board bills are not accepted.
- Entergy bill for the property, with service location and mailing address being the same, showing standard residential usage
- Landline telephone bill
- Cable bill (Direct, Dish or Cox).
Additional Information For Disabled Veterans & First Responders: As of 2017, the Homestead Exemption is increased to the first $150,000 of a home’s value for those declared 100 percent disabled by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or the surviving spouse of a veteran, policeman, fireman, or state trooper killed in the line of duty.
For more information, contact the Orleans Parish Assessor’s office at 504.658.1300.